Located some 3,200 kilometers southwest of the Pacific coast of the United States, Hawaii is an archipelago – a chain of islands – in the central Pacific Ocean, and the 50th U.S. state. It is made up of hundreds of islands, eight of which are considered ‘main’ islands. These are Hawaii (or the Big Island), Maui, Oahu, Kauai, Molokai, Lanai, Niihau, and Kahoolawe. The islands are formed from volcanic rock, which derives a series of active and dormant volcanoes in the region. Most of the Hawaiian Islands are famous for their sandy beaches, while some also feature lush tropical vegetation. In total, Hawaii is approximately 28,000 square kilometers in size, and has a population of 1.4 million.